top of page
Search
  • Chris Trethewey

DAY 23


TEN WORDS that I have repeatedly said over the course of my life. I have said these words at mile 25 of every marathon I have run. And I have said these 10 WORDS words as I climbed into the ocean for the start of my first 1/2 Ironman. I have said these 10 WORDS facing a path that looped along a mountain edge with a 1000 foot drop. And I have said these 10 WORDS facing one of the most difficult, complicated, and important leadership decisions. (Oh, I have definitely had these 10 WORDS on repeat over this past year.)


10 words that have been a constant source of direction and peace in the midst of insurmountable situations.


Maybe you have read these words etched in wood hanging in a friend's house. Or maybe you have uttered those words as you have faced a life-challenging decision. Take a moment and read what the Apostle Paul wrote leading into these powerful 10 WORDS.


Philippians 4:10-13 ESV

I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at length you have revived your concern for me. You were indeed concerned for me, but you had no opportunity. Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.


Paul learned the "secret" of contentment. No matter what life threw at him. No matter what difficulties he was facing. No matter how bleak the future seemed to be. It was through strength, which can only be sourced through Jesus, that he was able to make it through.


So today, say these 10 WORDS with confidence, knowing that Jesus' presence and strength is with you.

bottom of page